Happiness is YOU


“We accept the love we think we deserve”-Perks of being a wallflower  I would rather disagree to this statement picked from the lovely book and also the wonderful movie which was adapted last year. LOVE doesn’t have levels of density, it doesn’t come with manuals and precautions. Love is just a plain and simple act of selflessness filled with purity. I believe love isn’t different for anyone. You either love someone/something, or you don’t. When you accept someone’s love towards you, how do you know you deserve that love? Is there any measuring bar for what kinda love that person is offering? No. You just accept it because you feel genuinely happy receiving it. Its a wonderful feeling, and one which is often missed out from our observations. You see, its those little kind acts which show us the purity of love. Waiting for that someone at the bus stop even though you are late, just so you could enjoy their company. Letting go of your life long dream of buying a swanky car, or going on a vacation abroad, just so that your kid who studies in a university gets to sleep in an ac room. Going to a stupid movie just because your friend loves the actor. Not supporting your friend when he is doing something wrong and not listening to your advise but still accepting him back after he has done the mistake. You don’t need to take him back . But you still do. Why? Cause’ your love is pure and nonjudgmental towards the people you care for. When you loose love, you loose your happiness. And it is a very old, known and accepted fact by everyone in the world, that any living thing in this universe is in the pursuit of happiness, from their first breath to their last (yes, I got to know that from the movie too.). And it is our right to be happy, but is it in our hands to always have that right with us? Can we choose to be happy always? Many people would say we cant. Even I would’ve until a couple of months back when my eye lay on the  status update of a friend of mine , Divya. She said ‘Happiness is YOU’. It instantly grabbed my attention and stuck a chord. It stuck a chord because I was in a situation where I needed happiness. So let me take the last example I gave you about love and explain it further on how I understood that 3 word statement. When the person you care for doesn’t listen to you and does a mistake, he steals the right of being happy from you. And like I said, you still take them back because your love is selfless and pure towards the people you care for. But, maybe you even do it because you want to be happy again with the presence of that person in your life. Maybe we forgive and compromise with the way someone treats us just because we don’t wanna be unhappy anymore. And this statement directly contradicts what I said in the beginning. So now I wonder, is love really selfless and pure? Or is it just a unknowingly selfish desire to stay happy and receive love by giving some of it? Or maybe both? Well I leave that to you to decide, while I decide the real reason why I am writing this post. Oh, how much I love writing and how much I hate the lack of inspiration I have for it. I wish I could go on writing for ever I thank “Inxs” for making the track “After Glow”, which inspired me me to write something I feel is meaningful after a long time.

2 thoughts on “Happiness is YOU

  1. Hi Great post,
    You know I see it that Love I a gift given to us,Look at it this way you don’t choose who you fall in love with or those you love it’s something that (and use the term loosely) just happens.I believe it’s a gift from God.So yes Love is pure,selfless and kind and giving and accommodating and accepting ….all the good stuff as is everything from God.

    The trouble is US our individuality and our choices,the way we treat those “loved ones” our will to do whatever we decide to do with this gift is what pollutes anything good that the gift of love brings.

    Dig deep all broken relationships gone wrong: brothers&sisters,friends,children&parents,spouses, someone violated something for things to grow wrong.It wasn’t a case that Love wasn’t there anymore it’s just a case of self serving attitudes and yes selfishness. and accepting ….all the good stuff as is everything from God.

    The trouble is US our individuality and our choices,the way we treat those “loved ones” our will to do whatever we decide to do with this gift is what pollutes anything good that the gift of love brings.

    Dig deep all broken relationships gone wrong: brothers&sisters,friends,children&parents,spouses, someone violated something for things to grow wrong.It wasn’t a case that Love wasn’t there anymore it’s just a case of self serving attitudes and yes selfishness.

    It is not to say that you can’t bruise this gift,eventually after some betrayals and mistreatment,lack of appreciation it will start to fade away and wither like a flower we don’t water.Our Gifts need nourishing.

    We as humans are the problem we have a warped sense perception,that’s why we need Jesus.

Leave a Reply

